Church 92nd Annual Membership Assembly

Church 92nd Annual Membership Assembly

Holy Trinity Armenian Church 92nd Annual Membership Assembly

Press Office

Holy Trinity Armenian Church 92nd Annual Membership AssemblyThe 92nd Annual Parish Assembly of Holy Trinity Armenian Church took place on Sunday, March 1, 2015. His Grace Bishop Abgar Hovakimian, Primate, opened the meeting with prayer at 2:10 pm. As Rev. Archpriest Fr. Zareh Zargarian, Parish Priest welcomed all Parish members.

Church Accountant Mr. John Satouri, assisted by Secretary Mrs. Hripsime Simonian, accepted membership dues and counted dues-paid members at the door. Quorum was noted at 81 members present at the opening of the meeting.
Rev. Archpriest Zareh Zargarian and Pastor’s Assistant Rev. Fr. Datev Menengichian were present. The meeting officers were elected as follows:

• Chairman – Stephan Ekmekjian
• Recording Secretary – English – Dr. Isa Basmajian
• Recording Secretary – Armenian – Sosi Barounian


Father Zargarian delivered his message, speaking about the important events, missions, and highlights of the year 2014 as the detailed report of the pastor was printed in the 2014 Annual Report book. He appreciated the devoted Parish Council of the Church and their exceptional chairman, Ohan Ohanessian as well as John Satouri, the accountant/vice-chair. He specifically thanked Rosin Imasdounian, the treasurer and Kevork Barounian, advisor who just completed their terms.
In his words, no mission can be accomplished if the team of people that you work with are not devoted to the cause. He thanked Fr. Datev Menengichian, Deacons, Sub-Deacons, Church Choir members and all volunteers of the Holy Trinity Armenian Church for their care and dedication towards the church. He explained those who are chosen and trusted with duties and are serving their church should truly feel blessed because it is a true honour when you serve your church and your second family.

Chairman Ohan Ohanessian, invited present members to read the Parish Council report printed in the book and read the appreciation part as it was important to him. Mr. Ohanessian specifically praised Fr. Zargarian for his strong leadership guiding the church and the parish through numerous challenges of the past year as well as Yeretsgin Naira and their children for their support and care. All reports of Auxiliary body Committees in turn were read or presented and accepted. Mr. Satouri, presented members with a detailed Financial Report.

All officers’ positions of the Parish Council, Endowemnet Fund, Financial Review Committee, Nominating Committee were acclaimed since there were no extra names on the slates of the committees presented. The election for the position of Diocesan Delegate took place followed by a short break.
There were a total of 5 seats to be filled on the Parish Council. Two current members had submitted their names for re-election, and there were two new candidates. All the candidates were wonderful choices.
The election results are as follows:

Parish Council
• Vigen Allahyarian (re-elected)
• Taline Tajerian
• Arine Kemkemian
• John Satouri (Re-elected)

These names are in addition to the Parish Council members listed below, making the total number of Parish Council seats 11:
• Ohan Ohanessian
• Bedros Chinchinian
• Masis Esagolian
• Susanna Harutunyan
• Sella Kaltakjian
• Houry Aznavourian
• John Derohannesian

Diocesan Delegates
• Apet Alpay
• Dr. Masis Asik (Alternate)

Financial Review Committee
• Ara Derkevorkian
• Hagop Dokmecyan
• Paul Ishkanian

Nominating Committee
• Ayda Afarian
• Flor Boyaci
• Elizabeth Asik
• France Kandaharian
• Ani Sarvarian

In his closing remarks, Bishop Abgar Hovakimian expressed his appreciation for Father Zareh, Yeretsgin Naira and their children, the Parish Council, and all volunteers.
The Primate noted that Holy Trinity Armenian Church is a vibrant parish setting high standards in Canadian Diocese.
Fr. Zargarian welcomed the new members of the Parish Council: Taline Tajerian & Arine Kemkemian and wished them success in carrying on their great journey of serving our beloved church.
Bishop Hovakimian and Father Zareh closed the Assembly with prayer at 5:00pm.

Special thanks and appreciation for members of the Women’s Guild who prepared light refreshments for the membership so that the meeting could take place after Divine Liturgy, and were on hand to offer coffee and beverages during the entire meeting.

W IMG_7986

Click here to see more photos